On top of OWI charges, a person who is operating a vehicle while intoxicated or visibly impaired, with a passenger 15 years old or younger will receive Child Endangerment charges. If you have been charged with a DUI it is important to remember it does not mean you have been convicted, do not just plea guilty or give up hope. At Criminal Legal Services, our attorneys are experienced in defending DUI cases throughout Southeast Michigan.
Michigan law has 3 variations of an Operating While Intoxicated offense that include having your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle substantially affected by drugs or alcohol; a bodily alcohol content (BAC) at or above 0.08; or a BAC of 0.17 or higher (“super drunk“). If you are being charged with an OWI violation and at the time of the offense had a child under the age of 16 as a passenger you will receive child endangerment charges in addition to the OWI charges.
Person under 21 – Child Endangerment Charges
Child Endangerment also occurs when – a person under the age of 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher is operating a vehicle with a passenger under the age of 16.
First Offense – Misdemeanor
- $200 – $1,000 fine
- Up to 1 year imprisonment
- Community service for 30 to 90 days
- Possible vehicle immobilization
Second Offense – Felony
- $500 to $5,000 fine
- Imprisonment for 1 to 5 years
- Up to 1 year in jail, probation and community service for 60-180 days.
- Vehicle Immobilization