“Super Drunk” drivers, if convicted, face stiffer penalties, including a mandatory one-year breath interlock, higher costs and fines, and more jail time. Super Drunk or High BAC means the alcohol level in your body was at or above 0.17.
If you have been charged with a Super Drunk Driving offense it’s important to remember it does not mean you have been convicted. Do not just plead guilt or give up hope. At Criminal Legal Services, our attorneys are experienced in defending Super Drunk Driving cases throughout Michigan.
On October 31, 2010, the Michigan “Super Drunk” law became effective, adding a new definition to drunk driving offense to drivers with a bodily alcohol content of 0.17 or higher. If convicted, first-time offenders face enhanced penalties and license sanctions, with a requirement to participation in alcohol treatment and/or self-help programs.
The Michigan “Super Drunk” law has some of the toughest penalties in the nation; making it crucial to retain an experienced defense attorney who will protect your rights. If convicted with a high BAC offense, the Secretary of State will suspend your driver’s license for one year, after the first 45 days of suspension you will be entitled to restricted driving privileges – only if you pay to have an interlock device installed into your car.
Among the enhanced penalties, convicted drivers could face:
- Up to 180 days in jail (increased from 93 days)
- Fine of $200 but not more than $700 (increased from $100-$500)
- One year license suspension with restrictions permitted after 45 days (increased from six-month license suspension with restrictions permitted after 30 days)
- Up to 360 hours of community services
- Immobilization not exceeding 180 days
- 6 points on driving record
- Mandatory alcohol treatment program or self-help program for a period of now less than one year
The potential penalties for a conviction can be extremely serious. Having the right attorney can make all the difference; it is important you retain an experienced attorney who will aggressively fight to defend your rights. We recommend you consult with an attorney who specializes in defending “Super Drunk” charges. At Criminal Legal Services, our attorneys have obtained outstanding results for our clients.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
With an ignition interlock the driver is required to blow into the device, if it measures a BAC if .025 or higher the vehicle will prevent from starting. Recording the date and time, the device reports each test and any violations to the Department of State. In the event of a violation possible impoundment or licenses plate confiscation may occur.